---
title: Chart Group
description: "A Chart-Group is a chart container, a window containing a potentially infinite number of chart windows. Each chart window must belong to a Chart-Group A Chart-Group is contained in a Workspace. Within the Workspace, Chart-Group is accessible from its respective…"
url: "https://www.overcharts.com/en/helpcenter/docs/chart-group/"
updated: "2025-04-14"
category: Workspaces
---

# Chart Group

A Chart-Group is a chart container, a window containing a potentially infinite number of chart windows.

Each chart window must belong to a Chart-Group

A Chart-Group is contained in a Workspace. Within the Workspace, Chart-Group is accessible from its respective Tab, identifiable by Chart-Group name:

![](https://www.overcharts.com/en/helpcenter/wp-content/uploads/2021/07/chart-group-tab1.png)

#### **Create a new Chart-Group**

To create a new Chart-Group:

**1**. Access Workspace where you want to create the Chart-Group

**2**. Select from menu bar: *New* > *Chart-Group*

![](https://www.overcharts.com/en/helpcenter/wp-content/uploads/2021/07/chart-groups-menu2.png)

or press "**+**" button on chart-group Tabs:

![](https://www.overcharts.com/en/helpcenter/wp-content/uploads/2021/07/chart-group-tab-add1.png)

or select *Chart-Groups* menu > *New <VOID>*

![](https://www.overcharts.com/en/helpcenter/wp-content/uploads/2021/07/chart-groups-menu1.png)

Once new Chart-Group has been created, corresponding Tab is added to existing tabs. You can move Chart-Group Tab as you wish **by dragging it** to the right or left.

#### **Access an existing Chart-Group**

To access an *open* Chart-Group, select the Tab corresponding to the Chart-Group name.

#### **Close a Chart-Group**

You can close a Chart-Group at any time without losing its contents. A closed Chart-Group is **NOT deleted**, but simply removed from the current workspace, and can be reopened at any time.

There are several ways to close a Chart-Group:

- Click **X** on the Chart-Group tab (top right).
- **Right-click** on Chart-Group tab > **Close**.
- Menu **Chart-Groups** > **Close**.

#### **Reopen an existing Chart-Group**

When a Chart-Group is closed, it is not permanently deleted but put in stand-by keeping all charts contained and their settings.

You can reopen a Chart-Group by pressing **Stand-by Chart-Groups** button and selecting the Chart-Group to reopen:

![](https://www.overcharts.com/en/helpcenter/wp-content/uploads/2021/07/chart-group-stand-by-tab1.png)

or by pressing "**+**" button and selecting the Chart-Group to reopen:

![](https://www.overcharts.com/en/helpcenter/wp-content/uploads/2021/07/chart-group-stand-by-tab2.png)

or by selecting the Chart-Group to reopen from *Chart-Group*s menu:

![](https://www.overcharts.com/en/helpcenter/wp-content/uploads/2021/07/chart-group-stand-by-tab3.png)

#### **Rename / Delete a Chart-Group**

You can rename or delete a Chart-Group from ***Chart-Group******s*** menu > *Rename* / *Delete*:

![](https://www.overcharts.com/en/helpcenter/wp-content/uploads/2021/07/chart-group-rename-delete1.png)

or *by right-clicking on Chart-Group* Tab > *Rename*/ *Delete*:

![](https://www.overcharts.com/en/helpcenter/wp-content/uploads/2021/07/chart-group-rename-delete2.png)

#### **Detach a Chart-Group**

A Chart-Group can be detached from the workspace window and placed, for example, on a second monitor (**NOT RECOMMENDED**).

![](https://www.overcharts.com/en/helpcenter/wp-content/uploads/2021/07/chart-group-detach1.png)

***If you have two or more monitors, **we strongly recommend** not detaching the Chart-Group from the workspace window. Instead, create a new workspace to optimize graphics refresh performance.***

#### **Relocate Chart-Group Tab**

You can reposition the Chart-Group Tab as you like using drag & drop (click and hold the left mouse button on the tab, drag it left or right, then release to set the new position).

![](https://www.overcharts.com/en/helpcenter/wp-content/uploads/2021/07/chart-groups-tab3.png)
